Virginia has some of the toughest traffic laws in the nation. It criminalizes Reckless Driving as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is a similar offense to DUI. If a person is speeding and goes more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, he would get a plain speeding ticket in Pennsylvania, North Carolina, New Jersey and Maryland. However, in Fairfax County, he could face reckless driving charges, which can result in harsh penalties, such as 12 months of imprisonment, a fine of up to $2500, six demerit points on the driving record and suspension of the driver’s license. Most law enforcement agencies in Fairfax issue a ticket for reckless driving demanding you to testify in the General District Court of Fairfax County.
Fairfax County State Trooper and law enforcement can charge people with reckless driving according to the Virginia Code 46.2-862, which states:
“Exceeding the speed limit – A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.”
To convict someone of reckless driving in Fairfax County, according to the Virginia Code 46.2-852: “The prosecutor must prove that the driver (1) drove at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger life, limb, or property of another; or (2) that the driver disregarded the consequences of his actions and displayed an indifference to the safety of life, limb, or property.”
In Fairfax County, a reckless driving indictment is taken very seriously. The laws are enforced strictly and the highways of Fairfax County are patrolled very vigilantly and closely by the state troopers, county police officers, and airport authority police. A lot of people are given speeding and reckless driving tickets in the County daily. This severe implementation ensures that the highways of Fairfax are always safe. The most common roads and highways where drivers often get charged with reckless driving in Fairfax County include the Toll Road, Route 28, Route 50 and I-495 in Chantilly and the Arlington Boulevard in Fairfax City.
As reckless driving is considered a criminal offense in Fairfax, Virginia and it is not just a mere traffic infraction, a reckless driving charge should be taken seriously as getting convicted can lead to a permanent criminal record, because it is a Class 1 misdemeanor and can also result in negative points on your driving record. Additionally, it can cause the rates of your car, life, and health insurance premiums to increase significantly. It is necessary to not plead guilty and instead, refer to an experienced attorney as soon as you get a reckless driving charge seeing that it is penalized harshly in Fairfax. The lawyer can help convince judges that a misdemeanor didn’t occur.